Recipe: Quick & Easy Pasta Salad

toj pasta salad quick n easy

I often wonder what and how other people eat at their homes. Do Kenyans like the idea of pasta, aside from spaghetti and meatballs?

I have been trying to minimize my meat consumption, specifically beef, so the less I eat it, the less I miss it.

I cook relatively often at my house, so I can appreciate the idea of a quick and easy meal. Pasta is great for that as you can have a meal in under 15 minutes.

In my quest to include more raw food in our diet, often met with protests from a carnivorous brother, I am happy to avoid the use of heat on vegetables whenever I can. Here the onions and peppers are consumed raw. People who dislike the idea of consuming raw onions should consider quick pickling. The result of this dish is a light but filling meal, thanks to fiber filled raw veg and a light lemon dressing.

The recipe follows.

Quick and Easy Pasta Salad

Ingredients

Pasta

Assorted vegetables (Onion, garlic, peppers)

(Other options are sugar snap peas, carrots, red and yellow peppers, tomatoes. Anything goes).

Lemon juice

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Thyme leaves

Cayenne pepper

Salt and pepper to taste

Optional: Chicken or other meat, in bite-size pieces.

Directions

Boil pasta in salted water according to packet instructions, minus 1 minute for al dente.

While the pasta cooks, chop vegetables. I used what I had handy- quick pickled red onion, green peppers, cilantro.

Prepare dressing by mixing lemon juice, EVOO, cilantro, thyme, cayenne, salt and pepper. (I tend to use two lemons as I like that extra pucker! And about 2Tb EVOO)

Drain pasta. Toss in vegetables and dress the salad with dressing. Et voila!

Cook’s note: If using chicken or other meat, saute and cook until tender and toss in the salad with the vegetables.

Bon appetit.

Leave a comment